This past weekend I headed out to Park City, Utah to compete in the 15th annual Springer Tournee and Large Hill Nationals. The competition consisted of a k90 jumping competition, a hill climb roller ski race, and a competition on the k120 meter hill. After jumping the same small k70 meter hill in Steamboat for the past month I didn’t know what to expect. I had very few training jumps on the larger hills and felt very unprepared for a competition. Despite feeling unprepared I put together a solid jump of 86 meters putting me in 5th place to start the roller ski hill climb. The beginning of the race was brutal with temperature in the 90’s and a strong headwind. About halfway up the first steep pitch I realized I had gassed the first portion of the race to much, but I was able to slow my tempo down and finish strong in 6th place. I was very pleased with my overall result, being the first non ski team member at the finish. I feel like my cross country skiing has come a long way this summer and I am now starting to see the results come. I would like to say a big congrats to Ben Berend for putting in a great weekend of competition the fastest cross country time out of the juniors. It's great to have so many teammates competing at a high level and pushing each other everyday.

Despite seeing success in the k90 competition I struggled to find my footing on the k120 meter hill. I was disappointed but I look forward to getting some good jump training on bigger hills when we fly over to Europe on Monday. The NTG squad (Tyler Smith, Ben Berend, Jasper Good, and I) along with Nicholas Madden and Spencer Knickerbocker will be training and competing all around Europe for a month. I'm beyond excited for this trip and would like to take the time to thank everyone who make trips like this possible. Thanks to everyone for their support!

Stay tuned for updates about training and competitions in Europe!

Thank you to Paul Smith and Remi Smith for the awesome pictures of Springer Tournee.

Picture
Congrats to the Fletcher brothers and Brett Denny on the podium



Leave a Reply.