After a hard week of competitions in Park City, Utah it was time to come home and regroup for a week. I spent quite a bit of time hiking up Mount Werner and getting fresh turns in some of the best powder conditions I've ever seen. I found it beneficial to take some time away from normal training and refocus before traveling back to Park City for our final Junior World Championships tryouts. 
Picture
An awesome powder day in the boat with the Straightline Sports crew.
Following a week of recharging mentally, I was ready to put in a good result at the JWC qualifier. I was much more pleased with my jumping and started the race in 4th, just 18 seconds out of first place. On the 3rd out of 4 laps I took control of the race and finished in first with a 24 second advantage. This was by far my most complete competition of the year. I was excited to take some steps in the right direction but I know I still have a lot of work to be at my best. Winning this race also solidified my position on the Junior World Championship team in Val di Fiemme, Italy. Also representing the USA in Italy will be fellow teammates Jasper Good, Ben Berend, Nicholas Madden, and Erik Lynch. 
After the JWC qualifier I spent the next two weeks doing a pair of local 5 kilometer races and really focusing on my jump training. I went into jump training with a new attitude, willing to make any kind of change necessary to get out of my jumping "slump". Luckily, Martin Bayer is one of the best jump coaches in the US and I've started to make some big improvements. My training jumps have started to be consistently better and I feel I'm well on the right track to put in some good results over in Europe. Our team departs for Junior World Championships on January 14th. 

A special thanks to all the individuals who donated to the National Nordic Foundation. With your help our travel expenses to Junior World Championships are greatly lower, allowing us to focus on putting up good results while overseas. You are awesome, thank you!

Stay tuned for more updates as the most exciting part of the season begins.

Also check out this article in the Steamboat Pilot about chasing Olympic dreams in Steamboat. 



Leave a Reply.